How long? A tribute to a murdered friend

This is off-field. But there are realities that I do not want to lose site of, while pursuing my quest to stir debate on the subject of the Internet’s strategic role as part of the marketing and communications mix.

I am paying a tribute to a friend and ex-colleague, David Gay, who was murdered last night in Bedfordview, Gauteng, ZA. I am deeply distressed by this. David was a person with a beautiful heart, a father who loved his 2 young kids and who wanted to see them grow and become the best they can be. What’s more, David loved this country and believed in its future despite all the challenges and the negative sentiment brought about by rampaging crime.

When I heard the news this morning, I could not help wondering how long before it happens to me? Why do criminals continue to roam our neighbourhoods and kill with impunity? When is tough talk by the government going to stop and action start? What am I going to do in my capacity to contribute to a safer ZA, the country I am so passionate about?  Is writing this note even enough?

To David, may his soul rest in peace. To all who knew him, let’s make the best of these borrowed lives while we can, because crime knows no colour or creed.

Mkhulu William Seyama is an avid marketer, digital strategist, infopreneur and founder and CEO of eNitiate Integrated Solutions, a digital marketing agency that uses a robust and holistic approach in ensuring that clients achieve their online objectives effectively, from enabling website visitors to quickly find product information that aids their purchasing decision, to hassle-free online purchase of the products.

6 thoughts on “How long? A tribute to a murdered friend

  1. To David’s family, my deepest condolences to you on the sudden and tragic loss of a husband and father. I was very privileged to work with David during his days at National Brands, and thought he was a truly good person. Great sense of humour and always willing to listen and help. I wish you strength through the next few months, and hope you eventually find peace.

  2. To David’s family, may God help and protect you in these testing times. He will surely be missed and had an impact on many people in his life.

    This is yet another challenge to our Government to start acting on crime, as it has no boundaries, and the senseless killing and murder is somethingthat should have no place in this rainbow nation.

  3. My deepest sympathies to David’s family. He was one of my first bosses when I worked as a graduate at National Brands. I enjoyed his outlooked on life and he was a great boss. May his soul rest in peace.

  4. To the Gay family and friends. David was an inspiration to all of us on how to live for the moment. I know that he was sincerely loyal to his friends & colleages and loved his family passionately. He was a larger than life personality that touched these friendships with passion. Our deepest sympathies to David’s family and friends! We will miss you David! Until we meet again!

  5. My thoughts and prayers go out to Urshula, the children and all their friends and family over this very tragic and sad time in your life. My God Bless you and give you all the strength you need.

  6. I don’t David but I know what it is like to loose a person close to you over crime. May His soul rest in peace and may his family find comfort and strength through this tough time.

Leave a Reply

